5 year old about to be medicated, I think

hayden0430

Hi. I am new to this message board. Thank you for the forum.
I have a 5 year-old son with a lot of issues. He hits and kicks and throws things and does not follow directions. He has been kicked out of the YMCA day care, Gymboree, caught off from friends and already been sent to the Principal's office in his second week of Pre-K. I sit at work every day my stomach in knots waiting for the call from the school saying I need to pick him up because he kicked a teacher again or another student or threw blocks at people. He took Depakote about a year ago but it didn't seem to help. He has no formal diagnosis. I have been told he is bipolar and I have been told it is anxiety/depression. He did try Zoloft for a week but literally was climbing the walls (seriously, literally). He has an appointment with a psychiatrist tonight. This is the same one that tried the Zoloft. He has recommended Prozac. I'm sure everyone has heard the horror stories about young people and Prozac. It just doesn't sound right to me. There is a history of depression, ADD and bipolar in my family (I am bipolar). That seems to make the most sense to me but then again, it is hard to diagnose a 5 year-old.
I spend most of my time exhausted, frustrated and trying not to cry.
Has anyone had any experince with this age and medication? No one seems to think he's ADD because he can focus but yet he acts just like my nephew at that age who is now ADD and bipolar.