Back to foster care?

JJJ

Kanga is once again on her kick that she wants us to return her to foster care 'where she belongs'. Her main stated reason is that she can never return to our house anyway so why stay a member of our family. Her real reason is that we have some rules for her that aren't Residential Treatment Center (RTC) rules so the wards in her Residential Treatment Center (RTC) don't have those rules (i.e. we have restrictions on her phone list to only be able to call us, not friends from RTCs). We told her no but she wants to find out if she can do it on her own, so I told her to ask her case manager and then left the cm a heads-up message.

Is it possible for a minor child to initiate the disruption of her adoption? I can't imagine she could...

DaisyFace

Love me...Love me not
JJJ--

I have no experience with adoption procedures, so I cannot say...

But, I am wondering whether Kanga is really serious? To me, this just sounds like a version of "I don't like your rules, so I am running away!"...you know, somewhere where I truly belong, where everybody loves me, life is all sunshine and roses and I can do whatever I want all the time.

slsh

member since 1999
JJJ - thank you wasn't adopted, but he came up with a similar "solution" when he was 12 (had just returned from 3 years in Residential Treatment Center (RTC) #1). He wanted to be put up for adoption because he just knew he'd be fine in a different family. His CM was simply *fabulous* in her response, esp since she got no warning this was coming. Her jaw dropped, her eyes bugged out of her head, and she asked him point-blank exactly who in their right mind he thought was going to adopt him. She listed off the behaviors, the hospitalizations, the Residential Treatment Center (RTC) stay, the heck our family had been thru up to that point... and then just stared at him. I could've just hugged her. Huge reality check.