Doggy mast cell tumor. Anyone have experience with it?

BusynMember

One of my sweet furbabies may have a mast cell tumor in his abdomen. The vet said it was good I brought him in as soon as I felt a lump, but I'm still worried. Anyone have any experience with this? The vet did an aspiration and sent it to a lab. He is not 100% sure it is cancer. He said there is a 30% chance it's a fatty cell and said the cells were very unusal...he couldn't tell what it was.

This particular dog is my baby and so sweet, but he has always had allergies and has been sickly, unlike Chloe who never gets sick and is always bouncing around. Wish she could give him a few good vibes of health...

Any experience appreciated. Vet thinks we got it early.

Tanya M

Living with an attitude of gratitude
Staff member
I'm so sorry to hear this about your little furbaby. I have no experience and nothing to offer other than good thoughts and
Cute-teddy-hug-for-you.gif

Copabanana

One of my sweet furbabies may have a mast cell tumor in his abdomen.... Vet thinks we got it early.
Yes, Swot. This is the type of cancer Dolly had. Let me tell you our experience.

She got a growth. We were not so quick to catch it. She got another. They were removed and biopsed. Malignant. Mast cell tumors. By that time she had gotten a couple more. It did not look good. There were multiple sites. The doctor did not have a whole lot of hope.

There are stages and grades. To determine the exact stage and grade combo required another biopsy. My decision was to put the money towards the medication, rather than another surgery.

Stage III does not typically respond to medication. I remember that.

To me there was little point in another biopsy because I knew I was committed to the medication which I describe below. And to remove the growths would not have helped because she kept sprouting more growths.

I knew also that I did not want her to go through Chemo or Radiation. So, our course was clear.