Feeling defeated and discouraged...sorry negative and lengthy rant

everywoman

Put a big stamp of loser on my forehead and hang me high over the town...

I have been a teacher for 23 years.
I know a lot of you have very little respect for people in my profession----and I understand there are some really bad teachers out there---if you only knew the half of what we have to deal with.

I have classrooms full of difficult children who will not do what they need to do in order to learn what I am required by national, state, district, and school mandates to teach them. They don't have to, because in my district the lowest grade we can assign for a quarter is a 62.

I do my job for a lot less than I am worth in the "real" world. I work from 7 am every morning until midnight every night to do all I need to do to make relevant, timely, meaningful lessons, only to have to coddle young adults to do the assignments that they need to do to pass all district, state, and national testing.

We are raising a group of entitled, immoral, irresponsible people who are no more prepared for the world than a toddler. They don't like to read...so they don't. They think it's okay to go around with earbuds in their ears, even in the classroom. Many can't read beyond the 4th grade level, but I am required, by law, to teach them on grade level.

They have no written, spoken, or visual vocabulary nor the ability to speak or write without butchering English grammar. I'm not talking small grammatical mistakes; I had a senior who could not read the word Switzerland in her own power point presentation.