How to teach counting change...

everywoman

On another post I put the back story---but here's a summation. I am teaching an 18 year old moderately autistic young man. He is having trouble counting change. I have to get him to count quarters, dimes, nickles, and pennies. He knows the values of each, but he insists on counting them wrong. For example, if I show him a Quarter and 2 pennies, he will count it and 2+5+1+1=7.
If you have any tips---send them my way. Math is not my forte---and I'm not sure what to do with this.

gcvmom

Here we go again!
I'm no expert, but I would think you need to go back to having him try to memorize the values for each coin. Until he has that down, it will be much harder to combine the values.

You can have him say the values. Write the values. Draw a picture of the coin with the value written next to it. Practice showing the coin with him responding with the value. Just lots of repetition and reinforcement.

Just my "2 cents" (sorry for the pun!)

tiredmommy

He first needs to understand that a quarter equals .25, or 25/100 (1/4) of an dollar. Try having him draw in 4 slices in a pie and highlight on slice (a quarter). Perhaps because he is so literal & linear you should call the coins 25 cent coin, 10 cent coin, five cent coin and one cent coin?

Hound dog

Nana's are Beautiful
Have you tried "playing" store with him? Sounds weird, but it works.

I'm no math whiz myself and never was. But my grandma was determined to teach me the value of money and started in on me as soon as I was about 2 yrs. If she was going to buy something for me (usually under a dollar) she'd hold out a dollar's worth of change in her hand. I had to pick out the correct coins in order to get the prize. By the time I was in kindergarden I could not only do this....but shop for bargains......and add in sales tax to be certain my total would always land within that dollar limit.