Inappropriate "doggie" behavior?

DDD

Ace (our six year old male boxer) had a "play date" in our backyard an hour ago or so. easy child/difficult child and his girlfriend brought their pit bull puppy over for the first time. The puppy is maybe six or eight weeks old. The two dogs ran and circled and raced around...and then...:916blusher: Ace made multiple attempts to mount him. WTH???

Ace has not been "fixed" and is not around other dogs except at the groomers. The groomers always comment on how "nicely" he plays with the other dogs. Hmmm....why would an adult male try to mount a male puppy? When Ace's name was called he backed off and they began running around again.

I am NOT an expert in dogs but seriously what to heck does that mean? Do same sex dogs get hot and bothered??? Cane, the puppy, evidently does mount furniture etc. at his young age but Acey has never shown an interest. So...family experts...I'm a bit shocked and wondering what if anything we should do so that they can innocently play together. easy child/difficult child is moving into his new house in a few weeks and has promised to take Ace when husband is no longer able to care for "his baby Ace". I am more than dumbfounded. Help, guys. DDD

Suz

(the future) MRS. GERE
D3, you described pretty normal behavior for a non-neutered dog. My Rufus was the mounting king for a few weeks after he was neutered until his hormones settled down. Even now, several years later, it happens occasionally. It's more of a dominance thing than a sexual thing. Ace was telling the puppy that he is BOSS.

You will want to monitor them to make sure that no one gets hurt.

Suz

Hound dog

Nana's are Beautiful
LOL

Sorry..........needed to laugh. Rufus does it to Maggie.........well, not anymore but when he first came and he was 6 wks old. He does it to Ammo all the time...........and Ammo is HUGE. :rofl: It looks hilarious. Ammo could care less.......but then he's just a pup too, although a huge one. (and fixed)