New Kid on the Block

thumper2

Hello, I'm totally new to all this. How do I find out what the acronyms mean?? (i.e., difficult child)

I'm a mother of a 40+ y/o son who may be a sociopath, was reading up on it and it pretty much identifies him to a "T". No communication from my son in quite awhile...was just wondering if anyone else out there is a parent of a sociopath. When did u realize that might be your child's problem, and did they get tested?? Its been heartbreaking not to have any communication (about 2 years) with him...but my husband and I are retired and trying to enjoy our golden years in peace. No more violently angry phone calls, no more of us feeling guilty, no more enabling the drug habit he has/had (not sure if he's still on the drugs or not). Anyway, if anyone has a similar situation, I'd love to hear from you. Thank you.
Thumper2

Hello, I'm totally new to all this. How do I find out what the acronyms mean?? (i.e., difficult child)
Hover your mouse over the acronym in question. difficult child is "gift from God", a semi-tongue-in-cheek reference to the person who is the source of the problem.
I'm a mother of a 40+ y/o son who may be a sociopath, was reading up on it and it pretty much identifies him to a "T". No communication from my son in quite awhile...was just wondering if anyone else out there is a parent of a sociopath. When did u realize that might be your child's problem, and did they get tested?? Its been heartbreaking not to have any communication (about 2 years) with him...but my husband and I are retired and trying to enjoy our golden years in peace. No more violently angry phone calls, no more of us feeling guilty, no more enabling the drug habit he has/had (not sure if he's still on the drugs or not). Anyway, if anyone has a similar situation, I'd love to hear from you. Thank you.
Thumper2
You've come to the right place. Glad you are finding some peace.

CrazyinVA

Staff member