ODD and Encopresis

PunkParents

Hi,
I am a newbie and so very glad to have found this site. We are at our wits end and loosing all hope. Our difficult child was diagnosed with ODD and Encopresis (not at the same time - about a year apart). Our pediatric Psychologist says that there is a corrolation between the two but other than the laxative therapy for the Enco, he is not helping much. We are searching for alternative therapies, something that can aid with both issues. Is there anyone out there dealing with the same? Any ideas?

LittleDudesMom

Hi Punks!!

Glad you found your way here. Great to see you did a profile signature on your first post!

I don't have experience with either ODD or encopresis, but there are several members here that will be along with support and advice from personal experience.

Look forward to having you here.

Sharon

smallworld

Welcome!

Sorry for all the questions, but your answers will help us help you.
Has your son been evaluated by a pediatric gastroenterologist to rule out physical causes for the encopresis?
Does he have any sensory issues (for example, sensitivity to clothing tags or food textures)?
Any speech or developmental delays?
How does he do in school, both academically and with peers?
Any mental health issues or substance abuse in the family tree (in addition to your postpartum depression)?
How are his allergies being treated?

Many of us here feel that ODD doesn't stand alone but is more a symptom of something else that's going on neurologically or psychologically so it's important to dig deeper (for example, encopresis and oppositional behaviors can emanate from anxiety). Because your son has some physical issues, you might want to seek a multidisciplinary evaluation at a children's or university teaching hospital. Other options for evaluations include a developmental pediatrician or a pediatric neuropsychologist.

Again, welcome.

Josie