paintsavvy

Does anyone have any advice on how to deal with my 14 yr old difficult child who is self destructing? He is CD, we have been in juvi court every week for the last 6 weeks, he just keeps adding to it. He became a ward of the state last week. None of this has any effect on his choices: stealing the car, running away, lying, smoking, truancy, aggression, threats to kill us... Although he was diagnosed with ODD 7 years ago, we have worked a lot on it and things had been going well until last spring. He seems to have thrown out everything we taught him. I am a sped teacher, concentrating in BD, so we taught him a lot. I feel like no matter how much I do it is not enough. He will no longer let me parent him. Actually, he thinks he is 14 going on 21. Nothing anyone says to him has any impact. I am so overwhelmed with all this that I am having trouble going on with things. I don't know how to accept this or live with it. Any advice would be great.:whiteflag:

BusynMember

I have one question: Have you considered that your son may be using recreational drugs, and I mean more than just pot and drinking? Have you drug tested him? I went through this and I didn't know my daughter was using drugs, but she started at TWELVE (yes, 12). And, of course, she was 100% out of control and, while using, no, there was no way to control her except the cops and being on parole twice didn't scare her. Even a BD Special Education teacher can miss this--drug abusers are clever and rarely show their stripes during the day (more when mom and dad are asleep). Surprise him with an at-home drug test, but they don't work for all drugs. I'm guessing he is experimenting and you don't even know it (which is very common). And they ALL say "Oh, I just tried pot a few times. That's all."

Last edited:

C.J.