Have i done the right thing?

MandaC

Hi. Im new to this. I dont know if iv done the right thing. Looking for some support.
Last Wednesday, my 23 year old son was released on bail from remand. He had stopped speaking to me , his Dad and had infact cut everyone from his life 3 months before going to prison. I do know he was abusing alcohol at this point and his mental health was poor. But a month before being released , he wrote me a letter saying how sorry he was and that he loved me and and could i come and visit him which i did and thought we were going to rebuild our relationship once he was released and hed get help fir his mental health which so far he has refused to do.
Has anyone ever experienced this and is it a sign of ASBD? Leading up to my son cutting us all out of his life , he gradually, even if he requested our company, stopped conversation with us. I could drive him a car journey that lasted an hour and he wouldnt speak. No general conversation and also when i tried to speak , hed answer a word one answer, quick as a flash as if to cut me off/shut me up. He did it with his Dad also. On visiting him in prison , it was much of the same. Mabey not quite as bad but still very little conversation.