Feeling all the feels today

HMBgal

Hi guys. Partners in our troubles with our troubled family members. Yesterday was a horrible day for my grandson--suspended for three days for fighting--then I got home after teaching my students all day and hearing about the shootings. And I'm a teacher. And I had sat in my grandson's IEP amendment for increased aggressive behaviors in school just yesterday. He's not accessing academics at all because he just refuses to do the work. He was placed in his current class (a semi-self-contained class for kids with emotional problems). He was in general ed until 6th grade, but he needed a one-to-one aide to help manage his behaviors. The school district was hoping that this class had enough wrap-around support that he could be there most of the day, then out to two general ed classes. It was going okay until about November and it's been going downhill ever since. He now needs two aides to go to PE, which he loves but if one little thing doesn't go his way, he elopes. And he's been taking out of his computer classes for his behaviors.

He's completely socially isolated; he's burned every bridge in his class amongst his peers by saying horrible things, bothering the kids, complete refusal to do any school work. This is a smart kid, too. So, not sure what exactly happened but we had to go get him at school yesterday. He had a huge knot on his head where he was attacked (a fight he most likely started one way or another, but this class isn't filled with little angels, but he is the most "out-there" kid at this point). The other kid that threw a punch at my grandson re-broke his previously injured hand and was taken to Kaiser. Kaiser then sent the police to interview my grandson (no announcement, just showed up at the door, read my grandson his Miranda Rights--he's 11). The police also went to the school. We have no idea what happens now.