Is it illegal to put a child out of the house when he is a mentally and physically disabled adult?

Rosanna

Is it illegal to put a child out of the house when he is a mentally and physically disabled adult? I told him he could not stay at home if he continued using drugs. He called the cops on me! They told me to get a power of attorney on him. I don't want that responsibility. Every time he gets a check he gets in trouble. Been doing this for 17 years!

BusynMember

I agree a new thread is best for a response.

I am no lawyer, but as far as I know, a disabled adult can be forced to leave home as there are adult community supports especially good ones if he is on SSI. There are group homes, food cards, Medical assistance, therapy, caseworkers that help teach survival skills...many services. He MUST be on SSI first to qualify. The drugs are a problem, but not your responsibility. There are programs for rehab if he is willing. If not, he is on his own. His caseworker can setbit up, if he is interested in getting clean.

There is only so much of our lives we can give up to any one adult chlild who is defiant snd unwilling to do better. The vast majority of us have other loved ones and dear friends who deserve time with us as well. And somebody else who needs your own TLC is YOU. Self love is imperative to happiness.

If you have the means, contact a lawyer for your question. If not, human services should know the laws. That is their function. Call them. Dont be shy. I could never afford lawyers but found great resources for my own disabled son. Youbdont need money to get help.

None of us, I believe, must care for and house our adult kids until are death. I strongly feel thatour disabled adult kids are better off learning to use community services NOW as we can not live forever. They need to learn who to go to and what they are entitled to on their own.

I hope you find answers. I agree you should not to take legal advice from police.